This wiki has had no edits or log actions made within the last 45 days and has been automatically marked as inactive. If you would like to prevent this wiki from being closed, please start showing signs of activity here. If there are no signs of this wiki being used within the next 15 days, this wiki will be closed in accordance to the Dormancy Policy (which all wiki founders accept when requesting a wiki). If this wiki is closed and no one reopens it 135 days from now, this wiki will become eligible for deletion. Note: If you are a bureaucrat, you can go to Special:ManageWiki and uncheck "inactive" yourself.

Millers Creek

From Estill County History

History

"Millers Creek is located about 3 miles south of Irvine on the east side of the Kentucky River. One of the early roads in the county to have been built was from Irvine to Millers Creek. The community of Millers Creek, along with the Creek itself, was named for a man named Miller who operated a grist mill within the vicinity. The Creek was long, being a "Big" and "Little" Millers Creek and played an important part in early industry of the southeast section of the County. In early days, logs were rolled down Cobhill to the Furnace Fork of Millers Creek, then into the Creek and thence into the Kentucky River to float down to the mills placed along the river. According to Colling History, in 1870, iron from Estill Furnace and the Fitchburg Furnace was taken by train way, 6 miles, to Scott's Landing on the Kentucky River near the mouth of Millers Creek.

The L & N Railroad track to Eastern Kentucky runs parallel with the Kentucky River and the tract runs through the community of Millers Creek on the way to the mountains. In former days, there was a freight depot and the trains unloaded freight and picked up passengers there.

One of the oldest churches in the county was Mt. Tabor Christian of Millers Creek. The building is no longer standing. Approximately 45 years ago, when the building was in need of many repairs, it was abandoned. The congregation then erected a new building on highway #52 going to Beattyville near the present home of the Pendergrass family. They named their new church Mt. Sinai.

Before consolidation of Estill County Schools, the children of Millers Creek attended a one room school. The school building had two stories and the Bib Masonic Lodge used the upper room for meetings. The Bibb Lodge received its charter October 21, 1859, and was named in honor of P.G.M. George M. Bibb. This lodge was active until it consolidated with Irvine Lodge No. 137, May 23, 1947. Members of this lodge who have been honored with Life Memberships are Garrett D. Tipton, Claude B. Moberly, Nelson McIntosh, Oscar Samples, William Samples, Achillis Kelly, and E.B. Scrivner.

A red brick house, one of the first brick houses built in the county is at Millers Creek. It is in good repair and is owned and lived in by the Gilbert McIntosh family.

An early post office was established at the mouth of Millers Creek on August 7, 1839 with Benjamin F. Orlan as postmaster. Edward Stocton served as second postmaster. This post office was discontinued July 28, 1842. The Millers Creek post office was established November 11, 1850, with John M. Lyle as postmaster. Other postmasters were: Thomas J. Harris, Bowles H. Sale, Achilles Kelly, S.B. Neal, Elisha L. Cockrell, Achilles D. Howell, George W. Cole, Thomas H. West, George W. Congleton, Sid Chatman, James A. West, Harry W. Neal, Walter Rosco Samples and Mrs. Flora R. Barnes who served until her retirement January 31, 1968. The post office was closed on this date with the people of Millers Creek to get mail at Ravenna. Some families other than those previously named who received mail at Millers Creek post office are the Tipton, Broaddus, Scrivner and Tuggle Families." - Contributed to the Estill Co., KY Archives by Jen Bawden, Originally written by Bobby Rose in the 1970s, Used here with their permission, Date: 05/16/1999, Accessed 10/10/2020 at [1].